Accountancy Forum

Full Version: Help HELP - career
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I graduated in BSC. Hons. Mathematics and Computer Science. I want to go into accountancy because I presume it involves number work.

Now I want to apply for this graduate accounatcy job and I can't decide what area of accounting I'd like to go into and what qualifications to study. There's two areas to choose from; audit and business tax.
And theres ACCA, CIMA, ATT and another Tax qualification to choose from.

I want to know whats the difference between ACCA,ACA, CIMA. Also, if I want to work in tax the employer gives me the option to either choose to study ACCA/ACA or the ATT/and another tax qualification. In the interview it may ask me why I chose one and not the other. ACCA is a broader qualification is one reason, but i need more reasons.

Please help. Yes your rite, I am confused.

It would have been easier if you would've told your future plans as well... ACCA is directed towards audit whereas CIMA is aimed towards cost and management... So it depends what criteria you choose to say that ACCA is a broader qualification...

ACCA and CIMA both include Taxation subjects, however Audit is more 'pure' in ACCA than CIMA...

However, if you're planning for long term, there's no better option than ACA.

Yes I agree with Sumaaan.

Although I am not in the accountancy field directly, but I would suggest that you if you want your interview to be successful then in my view you would need to research into the difference b/w ACCA & CIMA etc in much greater depth. What I mean is its not just good to say say that one is studied at relatively broader scale than the other, every one can say that. What you should say in responce to such question is something that is very thoughtful and that other may not know or didnt realise - only such insight would stand out your resume and may land you at a premier firm.