Accountancy Forum

Full Version: No Tax on IT Firms
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Firstly I would like to applaud the people who are running this website. Well done! Keep it up brothers. This website is just great!

I have two questions for taxation experts here please

1. I came to know that according to clause 133 of the ITO 2001, export of IT services is exempt from tax until the mid of 2016. Does that mean that ITS export companies in Pakistan don't need to get registered as a private limited company until 2016 or what?

2. What are the legal requirements of working as a freelance web developer for foreign clients in Pakistan?

I am new to taxation etc. and I would really appreciate any help from experts here in helping me understand this.

Thank you!
Anyone?
Dear czed,

With regard to your first query, please note that the said section does not mean that you are not required to be registered, you may be registered as either sole properitor or form a Private/public limited company, and in all cases, you will also be required to file your income tax return, i.e. nil return.
The meaning of the said section is that, you are not required to pay income tax on profit of your business till the tax year 2016.