Accountancy Forum

Full Version: Incremental depreciation on revaluation surplus
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
As per revised IAS 1, Companies shall prepare statement of comprehensive income.

Whether incremental depreciation on revaluation surplus should be credited in other comprehensive income or directly credited in equity.

As per IAS 1, all revaluation gains are shown in other comprehensive imcome but as per C.O. 1984, incremental depreciation will be directly credited to equity.
What is the recommended treatment????

This will be taken directly to SOCE.

SRO 45 issued by SECP (which amended section 233 of CO84) specifically requires it to be taken to SOCE and being the local law over rules IAS-1.

Regards,
* * * section 235

Typo mistake.
Well Mohsin bro, being a student i just wanna add some more thing to the Answer of Kamran bhai in response to yours Querry
well buddy, Revised IAS-1 does not contradict with the Requirement of Company Ordinance
the Treatment of Incremental depreciation Due to Revaluation remains the same.
Infact,it requires just an additional information in Statement of Comprehensive Income
treatment will be like this
suppose building Carrying value = 200,000
Revalued Amount is 300000
therefore, Rs.100,000 being a Revaluation Income should be Disclosed in Statement of Comprehensive income not in Other income.
and the Accumulated of this will also be shown under the head Revaluation Surplus in Statement of changes in Equity
and Charge Additional Depreciation in the same manner as it was done before
means to say charge Directly to SOCE.
according to my knowledge only change in revaluation mean(incremantal - oiginal depr.) should be charge in other comprehensive incom.
it means 100,000 will not charge in SCI???????????????/
Dear Mohsin,