Accountancy Forum

Full Version: IAS - 16: Capitalization of interest charges
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Asalam o Aaikum

I am a student of PIPFA Final and from yours kind support i want to know the following.

at the time of capitalization of plant can we included the cost of any interest charges paid to supplier for deferred credit?

what is the alternative treatment of above mentioned question in IAS - 23?

Thanks

Muhammad Umar - PIPFA(F)
<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, san" id="quote">quote<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by umar_khi08@yahoo.com</i>
<br />Asalam o Aaikum

Iam a student of PIPFA Final and from yours kind support i want to know the following.

at the time of capitalization of plant can we included the cost of any intrest charges paid to supplier for deferred credit??

what is the alternative treatment of above mentioned quesion in IAS - 23???

Thanks

Muhammad Umar - PIPFA(F)

<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote">

Is every buddy here to answer me with a solid reason???

please writes your comments at your earliest..

Regards!

Umar.

Dear Asalam o Aaikum

As per IAS 16 PPE, interest charges are not capitalised for assets. Instead they are charged to P/L under finance charges. All expenses incurred to bring the assets for its intended used are capitalised e.g transport cost, VAT (which is not transferable).

IAS 23 deals with borrowing cost for qualifying assets. Qualifying assets are assets that takes a long period for completion. Hence during these period part of the interest is allowable for capitalisation.

In your case if the asset refered is a qualifying assets then under IAS 23 you can capitalised the interest charged till completion of the assets. In the other case , same is expensed to P/L under Finance charges.

Hope this answer your question.