Accountancy Forum

Full Version: Actuarial Profession again!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
hi.. im new to this website.. and i have read almost all threads relating to actuaries and actuarial sciences.. i have been to all the links provided in the forums and now i have quite a knowledge about the actuarial profession.

im an acca student and a GIKI drop out (cuz i realized i never wanted to do engineering n i was studying science in school only to keep my options open). i have always been gud in only one subject and that is maths (n stats).. i find this accounting boring and im doing research about possible qualifications in maths and to me the best option is being an actuary. i got 6 A's in o'level 3 in AS and 1A in A'level (97 in o lev math, 96 in a lev math, 92 in o lev stats). the problem is that i have already wasted too much time after i did a level in 2007 n now my acca will end in june 2011 hopefully.

my question is that should i still go for actuarial profession or is it too late now and although i know its very very difficult.. will i be able to do it given my good grades in math n stats.

secondly, i cudnt find how to start becoming an actuary as there is no institute providing actuary education in karachi. if anybody could tell the steps of becoming an actuary here in karachi.. it will be of great help and and i cud help my brother too whos doing a level and like me only likes maths and is quite interested in this actuary thing..
nobody to answer?? (
<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, san" id="quote">quote<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by arsalan7</i>
<br />hi.. im new to this website.. and i have read almost all threads relating to actuaries and actuarial sciences.. i have been to all the links provided in the forums and now i have quite a knowledge about the actuarial profession.