Accountancy Forum
Debit / Credit - Printable Version

+- Accountancy Forum (https://www.accountancy.com.pk/forum)
+-- Forum: The Profession (https://www.accountancy.com.pk/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Forum: Accounting and Audit (https://www.accountancy.com.pk/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=7)
+--- Thread: Debit / Credit (/showthread.php?tid=1855)

Pages: 1 2

Debit / Credit - bilal azhar - 04-05-2005

how would u define debit and credit?

i have been studying accounting for the last two to three years and has studied almost all famous books of accounting like shukla and gupta,frankwood,pbp,pac papers etc but has not find a definition of debit and credit.debit credit rules are given in every book but how would u describe to a layman that what is debit and credit.

one of my accounting teacher,not a chartered accountant gave the following definiton of debit and credit
"when we divide a page into two parts,the left side is called debit and the right side is called credit."

i think that above definiton is not correct.would some body explain to us the debit/credit definition.

bilal

- Desert Sleet - 04-05-2005

<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Tahoma, Arial" id="quote">quote<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by bilal azhar</i>
<br />how would u define debit and credit?

i have been studying accounting for the last two to three years and has studied almost all famous books of accounting like shukla and gupta,frankwood,pbp,pac papers etc but has not find a definition of debit and credit.debit credit rules are given in every book but how would u describe to a layman that what is debit and credit.

one of my accounting teacher,not a chartered accountant gave the following definiton of debit and credit
"when we divide a page into two parts,the left side is called debit and the right side is called credit."

i think that above definiton is not correct.would some body explain to us the debit/credit definition.

bilal