Accountancy Forum

Full Version: Graduate Fund Accounting Interview
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi All,

I have recently been called for an interview for a Graduate Fund Accounting interview with a medium to large Fund Administration company and would be very grateful of some advice from those working in the area.

I am an ACCA student and have passed/sat the first three professional exams as well as a 2.1 Accountancy Degree. I am confident that I have the right academics and characteristics for the position however my serious lack of experience coupled with recently failing an interview has me worried about making a mess of this interview forthcoming.

I am hopeful that someone could shed some light on the type of questions that could potentially be asked as well as the preparation work I should do.

Would really appreciate any do's and don't's from anybody working in this area as I am really excited about the career prospects on offer.

Thank you to all who assist

Fred
Hello,

Do you know exactly why you failed your last inteviews and have you overcome the identified weaknesses. In my last 5 interviews i failed one and i know exactly why.

Even the employer knows about your lack of experience through your cv and you still got an interview call, which means you will not face any questions pertaining to the actual field that only an experienced person could answer.

The interviwer would follow the following pattern mostly.

He will start with your personal background, ask you to introduce yourself.
He will ask you about your education.
Why have you chosen this field.
He will test your basic book knowledge, relevant to the job.
You would be expected to have basi cinformation about the company. Like their turnover, where they invest, how old is the company, their profit/loss. Basic public information that an accountancy student should know how to gather.