Accountancy Forum

Full Version: Tax Exemption "Software Export"
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
AoA
I work as a Contractor to provide Software services to a UK company under a business name which appears on my NTN certificate.

The amount is paid to my business account.

My question is, how to I fill out the IT form to claim the tax exemption under clause 133 Part I 2nd schedule "Export of Computer Software", which provides 0% tax on IT Services export.

On "INDIVIDUAL-AOP (1 of 2)" tab, I have put all my income on Row#8 (ie "Other Revenues ...")

I have put the same Amount on Row#29 (ie Business Income Exemption)

But this does not offset the Row#33 (Taxable Income) to ZERO.

Please provide some guidence.

The ohter question I have is

I receive the income in my GBP account which is in my business name. At what FX rate should I report that income in Rupees on the IT form. Should it be todays rate or the for the date on which remittance was received

Thanks a lot
Regarding first query, I think you should enter your income only in column 29 (i.e. exempt business income) Leave the above columns 1 to 21 blank.

Regarding, time of conversion of value of currency, section 71 is relevant. It says, ".... the amounts shall be converted to the rupee at the SBP rate..... on the date amount is taken into account for the purpose of this Ordinance.

The question is when the amount is said to be taken into account. In my opinion, for the purpose of calculation of income when it is received [as explained in s.69] would be the relevant time. Similarly for the purpose of acquisition of property the time of acquisition would be relevant, for determining conversion rate. However, for conversion of foreign exchange in bank account for the purpose of wealth statement, rate on the date for which wealth statement is made would be relevant.