Accountancy Forum

Full Version: i need career advice
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
dear kamran bhai

i need ur advice as u r a qualified accountant and working in a firm, am an ACCA part 3 student have to pass all 5 papers and i joined firm very earlier in my career due to substantial pressure from my family and now i have almost three years of working experience at the following firms

1. riaz ahmed saqib gohar & co. from 03/05 to 03/06
2. raza siddiqui & co. from 06/06 to 06/07
3. bdo ebrahim & co. from 06/07 to date

but now am finding it hard to obtain a place in big four firms, due to increased competition and of the fact that i have some prior experience now i want u to plz tell me what should i do and whether i should mention my prior working experience in my application or not.

regards

Dear,

Every firm has its own criteria for induction which may or not may be ignored in specific cases.

Normally the student who has changed firms during training tenure gets lesser favors from the bigger firms. Consistency always plays an important role. In my view you should have joined a reasonable firm in the start and then should have remain there. Every thing is learnt over time with hard work and sincerity.

I don't feel that big4 (except Deloitte, which I don't feel is so big at Lahore at least) would intake you on the basis of what you have written. Still, you can make an effort. Of course it's better to be a part of big4.

However, other firms may also not be regarded as trash. The firm in which you are working is good.

In my sincere opinion, if you don't get chance in big4, try to remain a part of this firm for a longer period.

This would be beneficial.

Regards,

KAMRAN.
kamran bhai

thank you so much for ur sincere response but i asked whether i should mention my prior experience on my application or not? and i am from karachi.

plz answer this
am eagerly waiting