Accountancy Forum

Full Version: Completed ACCA ....want to do CFA
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
As the topic says.....i have qualified ACCA in the recent attempt(DEC 2007), and right now i am 21 years old.

I have no previous work experience and i am planning to do CFA......whats bothering me is the 3 years of work experience....should i join one of the big four audit firms and continue my CFA or should i do some thing else that is relevant to CFA and also fulfills ACCA practical experience requirements........also thinking of availing exemptions in CIMA on ACCA basis and give the last 3 papers.......Any feedback from senior members would be much appreciated
Identify your objectives first.

CIMA and CFA lead to two entirely different fields. First decide which sector you want to work in...in industry CIMA would help you but if you want to take up a career in financial services then go for CFA. Don’t waste years pursuing a career which you do not like at the first place. You are 21 but that does not mean you have time to play with your career. It’s a very sensitive issue.

I kicked my years of exp in industry, consecutively cancelled my contracts with EY and then KPMG in a GCC country and finally landed a job I was dreaming about. You won't be this lucky...so think before taking the plunge.

And as far as CFA is concerned, mind it, its tough. My ACCA/CIA did not help that much in studying even for level 1.

Take a decision and then stick to it.

So bro think a lot before deciding.
Hi, Congratulations on qualifying
I agree with asifhanif, one thing is clear from your post that you have no intention of studying for ACA. So there is no point to go to big 4 or other audit firm.