Accountancy Forum
Degree info request - Printable Version

+- Accountancy Forum (https://www.accountancy.com.pk/forum)
+-- Forum: The Profession (https://www.accountancy.com.pk/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Forum: Career (https://www.accountancy.com.pk/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+--- Thread: Degree info request (/showthread.php?tid=1075)

Degree info request - imateeq - 09-03-2004

Dear Fellows,

My name is Ateeq , I am planning to take some degree programme in order
to enhance my market value.Currently i have M.A Economics degree from
Punjab University but i have found that M.A Economics is a kind of General
Degree.

That's why i have asking for suggestions through your forum , What programme
should i start to study and it would be much better if u can tell from which
institue , I am a resident of Lahore.

Thanks

With best regards and kind wishes to All the Members.
Ateeq

- Pracs - 09-03-2004

Ateeq

I am not clear what kind of vocation you are planning to go for.. If you are looking for an accounting career..

-Accounting/internal audit/external audit
CA- chartered accountancy (ICAP) this is a five plus years programme (depending on the route you take and passes in each exam) on the minimum including a 4 year articles/training with an accounting firm.
www.icap.org.pk

Certified Chartered accountants (UK) ACCA may be a good option but that will take a mimimum of 2 years ( I am not sure what kind of exemptions you will get).There is a local chapter that may be able to help you. Local accredited schools include

Professionals Accademy of commerce
Skans school of accountancy
(these schools also run ICAP programmes too)

www.accaglobal.com

-Internal Audit
Another option is CIA (may require a 6 months to a years's preperation)
www.theiia.org

Ofcourse with this you will need relevant experience for better job prospects. Most people with those qualifications would have a three to four articles/training at an accounting firm or a registered trainer.