Accountancy Forum
Summer Internships in Accounting Firms - Printable Version

+- Accountancy Forum (https://www.accountancy.com.pk/forum)
+-- Forum: The Profession (https://www.accountancy.com.pk/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Forum: Firms (https://www.accountancy.com.pk/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=11)
+--- Thread: Summer Internships in Accounting Firms (/showthread.php?tid=2553)

Summer Internships in Accounting Firms - jade77 - 10-13-2005

Salaams,
I'm currently studying for the CPA examination in the US. Does anyone know if accounting firms in karachi hire summer interns...interns who aren't pursuing the ACCA examination or the CA one. I haven't given my CPA exam yet...but am one course short of completing the requirements to sit for the exam.
How do I go about looking for a short-term intership/articleship (whatever else you guys call it there) in karachi?
Thanks in advance

- Pracs - 10-13-2005

Yes Jade most of the large accounting firms hire interns all around the year, mostly for a 3 month period. It is referred to as Internship in Pakistan. I think the best way is to start writing to the Big 4 along with some references from Uni etc.

Infact some of forum members trainees or employees with firms in Karachi could arrange some thing for you, hey guys !

meanwhile vist web sites for address and contact persons.

"Allah does not change the state of people unless they change what is within themselves" Quran 1311

- jade77 - 10-14-2005

Thanks for the info. I have a couple of other queries too...
I've taken all my accounting classes here, all accounting principles conform to GAAP. And the business law and taxation classes again conform to the UCC code and the (really complicated crappy)IRS standards.
Where do i stand with this kind of knowledge? I mean, won't firms want to hire ACCA or CA students instead of me?
Also, what kind of references do I need to get?
Thanks again for any advice.

- Pracs - 10-14-2005