Accountancy Forum
ACCA or CA? In a fix.. - Printable Version

+- Accountancy Forum (https://www.accountancy.com.pk/forum)
+-- Forum: The Profession (https://www.accountancy.com.pk/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Forum: Students (https://www.accountancy.com.pk/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=13)
+--- Thread: ACCA or CA? In a fix.. (/showthread.php?tid=2733)

ACCA or CA? In a fix.. - SarahNasir - 12-18-2005

Actually guys, i am completing my A'levels in about 5 months. Being a commerce student, i was initially planning to do CA. But after talking to some friends i beacme really confused! I really dont know what to go for, ACCA or CA??? By the way, on my part i am willing to work really hard and ready to accept all the challenges which are accompanied with both the professions.

So, it would be very kind of you people if you would advice me on what to do. Mind you, your opinion would be of great importance and plz be really rational while answering my question.

Thanks,
Sarah.

Sarah

- Khalid_Dawar - 12-18-2005

Welcome !
CA and ACCA both have outstanding present and future. Some important points about CA and ACCA are as follows;
1. CA is tough as compared to ACCA but it does not mean that it is an easy task ... thye fact is that the passing rate in ACCA is more than CA.
2. ACCA is a foreign degree while CA is our local Pakistani degree so ACCA have more acceptabality than CA .....but it does not mean that CA's are less efficient than ACCA.
In some countries distance education like ACCA is not accepted.
3. Rules and regulations are tough in CA is compared to ACCA ...
4. and in our own country CA have preference over ACCA.
5. ACCA is expensive than ACCA. )
6. and many many more....

So if you have the will to do something challanging and outstanding then you should join CA as a first choice....

BEST WISHES
KHALID

- XBRL - 12-18-2005