Accountancy Forum
Career study options ACCA, ADIT, CA?? - Printable Version

+- Accountancy Forum (https://www.accountancy.com.pk/forum)
+-- Forum: The Profession (https://www.accountancy.com.pk/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Forum: Career (https://www.accountancy.com.pk/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+--- Thread: Career study options ACCA, ADIT, CA?? (/showthread.php?tid=3785)

Career study options ACCA, ADIT, CA?? - ozdane - 09-13-2006

Hi all.
I am a new member here, and was hoping to get some advice.

I am an australian citizen, but currently living and working in Denmark, leaving denmark is not really an option as I am kind of stuck here with my girlfriend.

Anyway, what I wanted to know is what options do you think I should take to enhance my career prospects. I currently work for a small international tax advisory and corporate services firm here as an assitant account manager.

I have a double bachelor degree in Accounting / Banking and Finance from a very good university in australia (Monash university).

I am thinking of doing the ACCA but dont know how respected and beneficial this would be. I looked into when and if I go back to Australia it will give me membership to be an Aussie CA, but unfortunately it just gives me entry to the program which I get anyway from my bachelors degrees. I could also do an australian CPA from here but its not as highly regarded in aus as the CA.

I am also thinking of undertaking an advanced diploma ininternational taxation from the chartered intitute of taxation in britain. Can anyone give me some advice on whether I should undertake the ACCA, is it a worthwhile and respected program, that having status I could use to work in a big 4 firm in australia?

And I am very interested in international taxation, to be an advisor is it recommended I have a chartered accountancy behind me?

Any other good career options you people have would be widely appreciated. Thanks

- ausmanpk2001 - 09-14-2006

ACCA is starting in AU & NZ