Accountancy Forum
Advice Required - Printable Version

+- Accountancy Forum (https://www.accountancy.com.pk/forum)
+-- Forum: The Profession (https://www.accountancy.com.pk/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Forum: Career (https://www.accountancy.com.pk/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+--- Thread: Advice Required (/showthread.php?tid=494)

Advice Required - derivativetrader - 12-13-2003

Hi folks!

My name is Ahsan and I am new to this forum. At present I am studying Actuarial Science at the London School of Economics and hold 5 100 Series exams exemptions from the Institute of Actuaries.

I have noticed that there are some very resourceful people who give their insight into the matters very seriously and in pure belief. Therefore, I would highly appreciate if my few of the below queries could be answered,

1. I have researched that there are very few qualified actuaries working in Pakistan, although the supply of graduates is very elastic. Would it due to the rigour of the professional training or fierce competition (I mean very inelastic demand) that to date only 20 actuaries have been qualified?

2. What nature of Actuarial Practice do these people do in Pakistan, keeping in view that there is not much trend of Insurance or Pensions Policies (2 major fields of Practice Actuaries)?

3. I have heard that there is (hopefully) a very bright future of tomorrows Actuaries in Pakistan. Would any body comment on this, making sure that they cover the economical position and the overall position of Pakistan Economy? And how safe this bet would be?