Accountancy Forum
ACCA Student with 4 yr exp: Chances in big4?? - Printable Version

+- Accountancy Forum (https://www.accountancy.com.pk/forum)
+-- Forum: The Profession (https://www.accountancy.com.pk/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Forum: Firms (https://www.accountancy.com.pk/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=11)
+--- Thread: ACCA Student with 4 yr exp: Chances in big4?? (/showthread.php?tid=6683)

Pages: 1 2

ACCA Student with 4 yr exp: Chances in big4?? - adilmushtaq - 10-06-2009

Hello all,

I'm an ACCA Professional level student (I've passed the fundamentals) and currently working with a mid tier firm Ilyas Saeed & Co in the audit department. The firm has affiliation with MGI International (I'm not sure whether this affilation has any value nationally or internationally)

I've a total of 4 years of experience of external audit & preparation of of financial statements; two years with current firm & two years with a small local firm.

As I'm eligible to apply for training with EY & KPMG Islamabad (I called them & they told that they hire ACCA fundamentals passed students). My question is that whether my 4 year experience would be considered as a negative point i.e. I'll only have to pass the remaining 5 papers & I'd become ACCA member/qualified. Big4 firms maybe reluctant to hire me because of this reason that I may leave during the training or maybe I'm overqualified??

Or having 4 yr experience would be a plus point?

As I've 4 yr experience with 2 firms, so incase of being overqualified I can hide 2 years initial experience with the small firm!

I don't know whether with my current experience, would I be hired with a big4 firm outside Pakistan? i.e. UAE, Saudia Arabia etc. If this is the case, then I'm ready to relocate & try finding a job at a big4 in gulf or anywhere else.

I'm totally confused. SENIORS PLEASE HELP, I need advice. What would be the route better for me?

- Osama Rules - 10-06-2009

Salam,