Accountancy Forum

Full Version: IS ACCA LOSING IT'S VALUE IN PAKISTAN?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Nobody can deny the present large inflow of students in ACCA. Meet 10 guys on the street and half of them will tell you they are doing/or will be doing ACCA. Certainly it is a cause of concern for future wannabe ACCAs just like me. I am in my last year of A'lvls and is going to complete it inshallah by June. By then should'nt i and lots of A'lvl students deserve a chance to catch the true picture regarding the present and future value of an ACCA? I know that a lot of members here can give their respected and experienced opinion about this topic.By acting as a collective voice for all A'lvls, i urge every member to please help us on this and do not ignore it. Afterall, would'nt you help us make a better choice for our future?!
What exactly do you mean by losing value?
Generally, people talk of losing value in two perspectives; 1) lower salaries and 2) lower demand in industry.

I believe none of these will happen. ACCA has a very broad scope. Its not confined to a particular sector (as CFA is only in asset management, FRM is in risk management etc.). As an accountant one can serve in each and every field and sector, from non profit organizations to multinational corporations, from government to private organizations and from educational institutions to hospitals etc. All firms regardless of the industry and sector they move in require the services of accountants. So in Pakistan it has a very wide scope.

Since it is an internationally recognized qualification therefore, it has great scope abroad as well.

So I don't really feel that value will be lost but, however, competition will increase and only the best will survive.